Your top 5-10 for a novice

I’m a novice at hybridizing and wonder what you would recommend as your top 5-10 for a new guy. I have several more “common” roses from the big box stores, Mr. Lincoln, Ingrid Bergman, Olympiad, Peace, Double Delight and a couple other HT’s. I have a couple of Mr. Moore’s, 1-72-1 and Cal Poly. A couple of Paul Barden’s and Floradora that he gave me. Kim added a few of Mr. Moore’s crested that I’ve budded and seem to be doing okay. I rooted a couple varieties that were behind a furniture store. One of the salemen was loading my truck and he stepped into rose bushes and broke of several canes. I have no idea what they are, but they sure root well.

I have two primary interests. The first is crested and the second is patio roses that I guess are sometimes called mini-flora. I have budgeted about $300-$400 this fall for a purchase from the Antique Rose Emporium in Texas. They have a good selection, but it seems a little overwhelming when looking at their catalog.

So basically, if you had the choice of selecting about a dozen roses, what would you buy?

Congratulations Jeff! I’m glad the crested roses appear to have taken. That’s great! April Mooncrest has been throwing some pretty amazing basals which break into massive sprays at their tips.