Line Breeding

I’ve seen some discussion here regarding line breeding to “fix” desirable traits. I’ve read that some animal breeders also use this practice without as high a risk of producing undesirable traits that may occur with close inbreeding. I was curious if any of you know whether the practice of line breeding in plants causes inbreeding depression fairly early on or do you see that it takes a fairly large number of generations to induce inbreeding depression. I am a layman and am in the process of reading up on the subject to get a better understanding.

I do know one thing: classes like the Hybrid Teas are now so inbred and have such a limited gene pool that it is very easy to get a lot of weak, unhealthy offspring when you breed within the class.

If you mix widely divergent classes you will often get improved health and vigor like you hadn’t imagined possible.

It is true. Line-breeding HTs always resulted in throw aways for me. I am sure that some breeders will have exceptions but the generalized pattern I witnessed was not a positive one. There are a few rare exceptions in commercial introductions though. For example, Opening Night is one of the best garden red HTs currently available. It is the merging of two lines of Red Planet. Is has excellent vigor and good architecture for an HT. But it really is a major exception and divergent enough of a line-breed to work. I wish I could recall a line breed of two HTs I tried a few years ago. I recall the runty, mildewed seedling en masse but I cannot recall the parents.