Portland roses as mothers

Has any one had any experience with these roses Duchess of Portland, Sidonie, Comte de chambord and De Rescht?

I am a total novice, my first seed germinations are this year. Any insight would be much appreciated!

2 Likes

Hello James_D !
I haven’t had any success with Comte de Chambord yet, neither as seed parent nor as pollen parent. But I can highly recommend Indigo. Indigo is a very good seed bearer. She also accepts pollen from modern roses without any problems. With Rose de Resht the game is not easy. If you are lucky and everything fits during the pollination period and later on, you can create an exception, but it is rather rarely to succeed. If you still want to try this experiment, here is a small guideline: the pollen parent should have a suitable genetic background of Old Garden Roses varieties (R.gallica / R.damascena) and enough R.chinensis influence, then it is most likely to work out. But be aware it could take patience and time. All the best!

2 Likes

Thank you Roseus!

I will try with all of them, De Rescht included! Just searched Indigo, thanks for the helpful tip!

Had many tries with Comte de Chambord. Makes a good pollen parent, but as a mother: no hips so far.

I’ve also used Duchess of Portland quite a lot. She is a good mother. The repeat flowering however, it doesn’t come easy. I think my offspring has yet to settle before it will eventually repeat. :crossed_fingers:

4 Likes

Very good to hear about the duchess of Portland! Thanks for your help!

Thanks KarelBvn! This information is very interesting for me as well.

1 Like

I got a few curious hybrids from ‘Rose de Rescht’ twenty years back, but none of them were healthy or vigorous at all. They all died after a couple years in the garden. I don’t think ‘Rose de Rescht’ has any worthwhile genes to offer.

1 Like

Thank you for your comment, what did you cross it with?