Ploidy questions - Taking Steps Towards Building Genepool

I’ve been playing with OP hips now for a good maybe 5 years or so? At 20 I still have my first seedling, a ‘Queen Elizabeth’ seedling from when I was I think 17 out planted in our yard. Tiny runty thing, but I kept her anyway. This year actually is the first year in a LONG time I’ve gotten seedlings to not dampen off on me, and have one looking to bud soon out of random 7 or so current seedlings.

However this summer I’m looking to try some actual direct crosses for the first time, with actual emasculation and such, I did a little bit this year, but it was rather informal, just lot of finger smudging…but I’m still a bit confused by the whole ploidy thing. I’m good with aesthetics, not numbers!

Roses I have available or will be available for eventual use:

Diploids:

‘Plaisanterie’ (This one is outstanding, I want to cross this with everything else! I feel it has a lot of potential…)

'Roseraie de l’Ha

Hi Max!

Here are the ploidies of some of them in question.

Diploid

Rosa maximowicziana (I think it is the one I sent you)

‘Pax Apollo’

‘Pacific Pearls’

‘Sven’

‘Lena’

‘Ole’

‘The Gift’

Triploid

‘Lynnie’ I was so surprised to find this one to be triploid, especially with all the hips it makes.

In general, I think the key is to find your female parents that are fertile and produce seed that germinates for you and try different roses as males that you would like to try. Some combinations may not produce very many or any viable seedlings, but the fun of it is to develop interesting and valuable seedlings you enjoy and not always raising as many seedlings as possible. The crosses that work better and still produce the types of roses one is intersted in seem to be what we gravitate towards.