New to Forum

I’m new to hybridizing roses and am interested in plant breeding in general. My initial foray this year was mainly practicing my pollination technique and stratifying seeds (likely collected later than good for them). I have a fondness for Hybrid Perpetuals (don’t know quite why ).

My initial crosses were:

Sharifa Asma X Paul Neyron

Sharifa Asma X Reine des Violettes (1 seed)

Plus I have OP seeds from Sun Flare, Sharifa Asma, Graham Thomas, Queen Elizabeth.

BTW, I may have done the “PNRSV” pollen on a virus free plant as I believe my Paul Neyron may be virused (I guess that’s what you get for buying the $2.99 plant at Home Depot). Of course neither P. Neyron or S. Asma were tested before hand, but if I get any germinated seed, I’ll try to let this group know if any of the plants appear virussed.

I was sorry to read on this forum that Sharifa Asma is not a good parent. It is such a good performing rose in my garden. I was also surprised to read that Reine des Violettes was useful as a parent, I had almost concluded that it was affectively sterile. I found it very difficult to find stamens/pollen.

I have two goals in mind, one fairly simple, the other much more difficult (and I suspect perhaps, impossible). You’ll note that the seeds above have very little to do with these goals.

Goal 1: OGR type blossom, in vibrant, golden yellow color.

Goal 2: Splotched/striped (is there an official term?) rose pattern like Ferdinand Pritchard (or G. Burns, Scentimental, etc.) but yellow in the stripes and purple/mauve as the darker color.

Both above would hopefully be accomplished with VG. remontancy, G to VG scent and reasonable disease resistance, vigor, etc.