Good Healthy OGRS/Gallicas for Beginner Hybridizer?

I must be getting annoying, I apologize about all these threads, but I’m really interested in the prospects of hybridizing roses, and am completely distraught! I live in Maryland, US, where blackspot infection is really really bad, and I’m a student so I don’t time have to spray, nor do I want to have to leave my parents doing all that when I go off to college next year. Gallicas tend to do well here though ( except Cardinal Cardinal Richelieu, which blackspots)which is why I have been asking about them.

Anyway, I currently am trying to get a list of fertile gallicas and or other extremely resistant OGR shrubs that I might be able to use. I already have these roses and know that both Cr

I was shocked at how easily Crepescule pollen worked last season. I didn’t use it much but the few times I tried were very successful.

I’m a big fan of Tuscany Superb as a parent. I also like La Belle Sultane, Mecene, Empress Jos

Tuscany Superb, La Belle Sultane and Jenny Duval - all worked well for me.

Hi,Max. Nice to see you here.

Olga

Nuits de Young

Hello Max,

I live in Maryland also and never spray, so I can sympathize about the blackspot.

My Rosa Mundi turned out to be a reversion to regular Apothecary’s Rose, which has been fertile both ways for me – as a seed parent with various HT’s, and as a pollen parent on Rosa carolina.

Other OGR’s I have are:

1. Banshee (pollen fertile)

2. an unknown alba (seed fertile and probably pollen fertile too)

3. an unknown Damask (seed fertile if you can harvest the hips before mildew gets them – curiously, the rest of the plant seems to be pretty resistant to all diseases, mildew included)

4. Rose de Rescht (seed fertile) – I really like this rose, and hope that it’s a better breeder for me, than it’s been for some other hybridizers. It is compact and repeats well.

5. William Lobb (seed and pollen fertile)