Experience with Hansa?

I had four crosses (out of far too many) take on Hansa, and produce over a hundred seeds.
I also gathered OP Hips, in case all of my crosses were not germinating, so I had some seedlings to work with.
The odd thing is that I had half a dozen seeds germinate from my crosses, while I had four dozen germinate from the O.P. hip so far.
There were a few more seeds in the O.P. bag, but not that many more.

1. Has anyone else experienced a variance in germinating Hansa seeds, depending on the crosses made?
  2. Also, have you found it (Hansa) to be particular with the pollen it accepted (although not as picky as Therese Bugnet has been)?

I must say I am happy that a few of the older seedlings seem to be fairly vigorous.
Duane

I have no experience with ‘Hansa’. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen it. But I do have a couple of articles that may interest you.
De Vries, Dubois: Repeated pollination in Sonia x Illona (1983)
http://bulbnrose.x10.mx/Roses/breeding/DeVriesPollinationX1983/DeVriesPollinationX1983.html?_ir=1
De Vries, Dubois: Rose Pollination and Temperature (1987)
http://bulbnrose.x10.mx/Roses/breeding/DevriesPollen1987/DevriesPollen1987.html

As the authors explain in the first paper, repeated pollination not only increases the average number of seeds per hip, it increases the average size of the seeds.

The second paper reports on the influence of heat on the success of a particular cross. Other species and cultivars in various crosses would probably favor different temperatures. A species that flowers in late winter is not likely to prefer the same temperature range as another species that climbs high into the trees of Borneo. If we pick a temperature that suits us, we will have most success with the species and cultivars that favor the same temperature range.

So, repeated pollination, especially at varying temperatures, may give more success.
Karl