Yellowing of rose leaves.

Some of my roses have yellowing of their leaves in between the green veins. Only some of them, and I managed to cure some of them a few months ago after using some Bonsai Food that somebody gave me, which had chelated minerals like EDTA chelated Iron and a lot of other chelated minerals in it.

I was wondering if there is any natural form of chelated iron, and was reading somewhere that grass clippings naturally chelate iron so you don’t need to keep buying expensive products containing chelated iron.

This is happening to roses grown in bought potting compost, so it isn’t to do with my garden soil’s pH.

If there is no natural form of chelated iron, what products do you recommend for chelated iron to get the best effect? The Bonsai Food was given to me by somebody who didn’t need it any more, and it contained more potassium than nitrogen or phosphorus and a lot of chelated minerals and humus and seaweed.

Hi Julie. I’m no expert, but if you have similar conditions to the ones I struggled with, maybe I can offer a couple of suggestions. As a groundskeeper in a college setting in [like you] zone 9 in the Los Angeles area, I looked after a planting of acid-loving plants. They were planted in a courtyard where the cement paving had been sprayed off with water to make a rough surface, with the cement slurry washed into the planting beds years before. Needless to say I struggled with chlorosis, yellowing between the veins, on some azaleas, camellias, gardenias, and general malaise in Australian tree ferns, even with nandinas. A product we used then [25 years ago] was called, I think, Acid-all, sold in 30 lb. bags that were bright yellow in color. It was a mixture of, I think, composted sewage sludge (like the famous Milorganite) and small pellets [prells?] of sulfur. It was very black and fertile-looking. I could apply it directly to the surface of the soil, allowing the sulfur to leach in over a couple of years, even with frequent irrigation.