Vertical and Horizontal disease resistance

I’m still new at this hobby, but in my reading about disease resistance I’ve come upon some interesting material about disease resistance.

I’m trying to figure out this whole thing with vertical and horizontal resistance. From what I gather, vertical resistance is based on a single gene where as horizontal resistance is based on multiple genes. That is an extreme over simplification I’m sure, but I have a question about breeding related to this.

How does a breeder select varieties for horizontal or verticle resistance to say blackspot? I would assume that selecting for horizontal would be preferred, but the selction process…I’m stumped.

Jeff

Hi Jeff,

Great questions. Many of the details are described in this thread.

http://www.rosehybridizers.org/forum/message.php?topid=38704&rc=36&ui=2965480955

Thanks David:

I’m not sure how I missed that thread.

So, in consideration of ability to select for resistance, I should be glad that just about everything gets a little bit of blackspot when grown here unsprayed.

Because only then (with at least a little disease) can one see the differences in severity.

Here are a few pictures illustrating the typical Fall disease status of a few roses here:

So… unless I can find at least a little disease on ‘Blush Noisette’, and those two other seedlings, it would suggest that they might have a vertical [one-gene] resistance that would hide what level of horizontal resistance they have. And then, they might not be good starting material, in a horizontal resistance breeding campaign???

I wonider if Blush Noisette being so close to two species roses if that wouldn’t suggest something more than verticle resistance? Could the combination of genes from Rosa chinensis and Rosa moschata give it horizontal resistance?

There are no species roses that are unaffected by disease.