Total Rose Seed Beginner

I am a Horticulturist, and a Nursery Manager-- Having said that I have no experience growing roses from seed.

In addition to that I thought that I would try it out since I had some beautiful hips with some big plump seeds from open pollinated Blazing Orange Climber roses.

I harvested the seed today, cleaned them up, put them in a wax paper envelope and placed them in the fridge until I know what to do with them!

Please tell me what to do now----

Did I harvest the seeds too late??? Or am I ok–

What is next…

Anxiously waiting for advice.

Ryan

Orem, Utah

Good for you Ryan. This is how I started. RHA has references you can order to aid in your success. The forum search option offers past discussion via a keyword. You may wish to research your question on your own. ARS website also has information for beginners.

If it were me I would sow the seed in some good general purpose potting soil, lightly top dress with a bit of perlite, keep moist and wait. In my experience. Most seed takes about 8 weeks to begin germination. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. It’s all good practice for growing out future planned crosses.

Growing roses from seed can be as simple or as complicated as you choose to make it. You will find a great deal of advice here from past discussions if you access the keyword feature.

Happy roses, Robert

Hello Ryan, and welcome to the forum. You may find some useful information at the URL below as well.