Thornless roses from thorny parents

I am not experienced at hybridizing, but I’ve collected OP seeds and sprouted them. I collected over a hundred seeds from Jeanne LaJoie and of the six or so surviving seedlings all are miniature and some are thornless.

I guess I should look on Helpmefind to see where it comes from in JLJ’s ancestry. I just thought it interesting that a thorny rose could have a fairly high proportion of thornless offspring.

I know Enrique is interested in thornlessness so I thought he might enjoy this bit of data.

Yes, this did get my intrest. Seems that there are several roses that are thornless that came from thorny parents, Pacific Serenade and Golden Cinderella being two of them. I believe that thornlessness maybe a dominant trait, not recessive as some people have suggested. Maybe we think it is a dominant trait because the thorny trait has been well breed in roses. You know, like male baldness. Baldness is a recessive trait, but it has been so breed in by people that it seems to be a dominant trait. OOC Knowing that, I smile alote because my family history reveals to me that I have a huge possibility of not being bald. . . BTTP. So this year I’m going to cross Basye’s Legacy with the thorniest roses in my garden. Today I’ve done one with Kazanlik, the most thorny rose ever in my opinion next to the moss roses. I am wondering if they will be thornless.(Hey Jim, how are those Scarlet Moss hybrids? Thornless?)

If the number of thorns is controlled by many different genes, then the offspring of most crosses would show a range of levels of thorniness. This might include individuals with either more or less thorns than either parent.