Some beginner questions

Hi to all and thanks in advance for your answers.

This is my first yearly membership of RHA, I grow roses in Italy and never posted before because I consider myself a beginner in hybridizing so I hope my questions won’t be too obvious to you.

I would like to understand if there’s a site or a list of diploids, tetraploids etc roses varieties.

I’ve red the Association “The next step” on page 44 where James Sproul explain a way to catalog the seedling characteristics. I would like to undestand what the “seedling code” mean (for example CHAD B-20): if it’s the internal nursery ID or if it has some other means. I also saw some codes assigned to hips in some photos around the net (for example the code R-15 in this photo http://picasaweb.google.com/HAKuska/HenrySRoses#5068777920827182978).

Thanks,

regards

Alessandra

Hi Alessandra,

I would like to understand if there’s a site or a list of diploids, tetraploids etc roses varieties.

David Zlesak has been steadily building his own database and shares it here from time to time. Search on “ploidy” here for his posts and others. Also, his data and others show up on many of the entries on HelpMeFind.com.

I would like to undestand what the “seedling code” mean

People generally use a system of their own creation. Jim Sproul will need to tell you his system, but basically you should create your own method of cataloging your crosses and seedlngs, making it something that is meaningful to you. For instance, I record my crosses in a database in which each cross gets a unique number and then use that number to catalogue seedlings - 06-125-2 means the second seedling from cross number 125 done in 2006.

Have fun. Where are you in Italy?

Hello Don, thanks for the answer.

Now I live in northern Italy, near Venice in USDA Zone 8 (but my grandparents were dutch as you can see from my surname).

For those who are interested I can provide seeds or something within my possibilities and availability.