Seeking a source for Hulthemia persica aka Rosa persica

Hello all, a brief introduction, I am new to this forum but have grown roses for over thirty years. I have been in association with Ralph Moore for about twenty of those ( I am from that area) and count among my friends Kim Rupert and others. I have a degree in Nursery Mg’t. from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and reside in the Palm Springs are of California. I am ardently seeking a source for the above mentioned species to be used in breeding. Any leads are greatly appreciated, going to Europe is not out of the question and paying for propagation sources is not a problem. Harkness is no longer working with the species, Cocker has it but isn’t letting any go and I have received no response from Beales. I have contacted Manners and Byrne with no success as of yet though they have been most kind as have been Phillips and Rix. The search goes on. I already have access to most of the known hybrids but am seeking the true original species only. Thanks in advance. Robert

I could had sworn that Ralph Moore had the species… Have you tried Ashdown Roses? I think they might have it a year ago, or it may had been the its hybrid ‘Tigris’.

Hi Enrique, Mr. Moore has ‘Tigris’ only. As for Ashdown I am sure Kim would have alerted me to it’s availability there. Kim has been searching for me as well. Thank you for your reply. Robert

I remember reading somewhere that Chris Warner was working with the species–not sure if that meant the pure species or with the hybrids. Good luck on your search. I’ve been looking as well, but not seriously.

Hi Robert:

I do not have any leads for you. I know that Chris Warner is working with hybrids, but I am not aware that he has the species.

May I ask, why?

Jim