Seedling roses and fertility

Are there fertlity problems with seedlings or younger roses? I’m just getting started with my breeding program and all of my roses are young. I thought that I read here someplace that 1st and 2nd year plants may produce hips but the seeds will not be fertile. I ran a search and didn’t come up with anything specific. I guess the same question would apply to pollen.

My plants are still dormant, but when spring finally arrives I don’t want to miss any opportunities.

Jeff

Hi, what part of Oregon are ya from? there are a few others of us here in Oregon, too.

they say that fertility is an issue with 1rst year roses, but I try sometimes if I feel it is worth it to see if it is seed fertile or not simply because a year in rose breeding can feel like a missed opportunity. so, giving it a dry run can give you an idea of whether or not to use it as a seed or pollen parent the following year.

Hi Jeff,

One of my favorite sayings: Give em the opportunity to say no. If you try and it doesn’t work…you tried. How many roses are you planning on crossing? I live near Eureka, about 100 miles south of the Oregon border. Last year was a bumper crop for me, about 85 seedlings (all Hybrid Teas) and its so fun hybridizing. You never know what might pop up. This site is amazing for getting your questions answered. Good Luck.

jack

“The mini’s don’t really fit the long term goal, but I sure like them. I’ll probably do some crosses of those as well.”

Don’t be too quick to assume Miniatures are going to be of no use to you in breeding. Some of my crosses with Miniatures have given me some of the most useful “stepping stones” to a new line of breeding that would not have otherwise been possible. They often bring valuable traits to a breeding line, including floriferousness, vigor and compact shrub form. You may want to keep that in mind.