Rugosa×Hulthemia hybrids?

Hi everyone,
Newbie here!
So glad I found this forum. I have been reading various threads for the last few days and am learning so much from all of the posters here.
In a 2014 thread about hybridizing with Rugosas, several posters mentioned exploring the cross with Hulthemias.
https://rosebreeders.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=54696&start=40
Has anything come out of these experiments? I am really curious to hear about what parents were tried and what the issues may have been.
Has anyone managed to make a rugosa-looking plant with the Hulthemia’s famous “eye”?

Well one of the original Harkness’ Hulthemia hybrids, Nigel Hawthorne, is a cross between R. persica and a rugosa hybrid. It looks like a lovely shrub, but as long as I know it is completely (or virtually) sterile. Anyhow, going back to the original species would be really difficult; what would make more sense to me would be crossing modern hulthemias with a rugosa, or possibly a fertile modern-rugosa hybrid.
The rugosa-modern hybrid way is not easy at all (health+infertility), but I don’t see why using a modern hulthemia would be different from using any other modern shrub (+ the fact that you would need way more seedlings than usual if you want to get some good blotches). The main problem will probably be going on to the newt generation, due to low fertility level.

If you decide to try it, please keep us updated, it should be really interesting!

1 Like

https://rosebreeders.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=55808

Warren had some Fru Dagmar Hastrup X Sweetspot Calypso (Sweetspot Calyspo is diploid) as you can see above

I have some too (same cross) but there was a lot of health issues (unsurprising given how bad sweetspot calypso is), none as nice and clear as his first picture, often disfigured petals that last less than a day (seems a common thing with rugosa wide crosses). The rugosa influence in the foliage often wasn’t strong.