Rosa Nitida and Virginiana: Is anyone using them?

I am new to hybridizing and I have been looking to find some species roses to use. I am getting a sucker of Arkansana from Paul. Virginana and Nitida have really caught my eye. Are they worth trying? Are they hard species to work with?

Thanks

Mike

I have tried them both. I love the offspring from R. virginiana. R. virginiana is tetraploid and can cross with modern roses pretty readily, especially as a male. It also for some reason tends to let warm colors (carotenoid pigments) come through to offspring from crosses with warm colored modern roses better than other species. Also, at least what I’ve been using can pass along disease resistance pretty well too. R. nitida has been more of a challenge for me and I gave up with it, but I think there is potential. Since it is diploid that has kind of hindered me. I can get crosses of it with rugosas, but it didn’t cross well with other diploids like polyanthas. I think if one would invest more at the diploid level with it or chromosome double it, there are a lot of nice traits that one can hopefully get transmitted to modern roses. R. palustris is also very very nice. What I’ve been working with is a tetraploid form (most seem to be diploid). Sincerely, David

I have 4 seedlings of (Corylus X OP) X (acicularis-tetraploid ? X OP)

Corylus is R. nitida X R. rugosa ruba. It should be a diploid. This is just a “breeding material only” type cross. Both parents, Corylus and acicularis, are single, once blooming. Both are hardy and disease resistant in northern Ohio. The cross should be a triploid but perhaps some of the pollen will be tetraploid.

I also have 1 seedling of (Corylus X OP) X mixed pollen.

My experience is that once I get the diploid species into a triploid cross, I often get some tetraplod pollen to then cross with other tetraploids.