record keeping

I am very new at rose hybridizing and am very green and I do mean green. I need help on ideas in record keeping. I have several Carefree Beauty open pollinated seedlings that are up and starting to bloom. Thanks in at advance for your help Sincerely, Fred Perkins

I think it can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be.

Some folks record everything. Now it’s very simple with Excel spreadsheets and the like. I don’t bother.

Hi Fred, when I first started out, I took all kinds of notes - way more than I needed, but I think that it helped with the learning curve. Take as many notes as what fits your schedule. Consider taking photos of the seedlings that you keep and compare early appearances with more mature plants. That is a learning experience in itself!

It will be important for you to come up with a way to “name” your seedlings, in such a way that you can keep track of the parentage if that is something that would interest you. I used to give seedlings code names that contained two letters from each of the parent roses and then if there were more than one seedling from the cross, I would add a number. And I would attach the year of the cross at the beginning. For example, 92-SBGR-05. That was a seedling that resulted from a cross of ‘Sheer Bliss’ X ‘Granada’, made in 1992, and was the 5th seedling of that cross that I kept for further evaluation.