Need Advice - I'm Just Starting Out

Hello all,

I’m excited to be here. I’ve recently become interested in the genetic aspect of plants (due to the pandemic, I’ve taken up some new hobbies). As such, I’d like to try and breed some interesting hybrids. I particularly wanted advice on the following:

1. What cultivars should I experiment with? I particularly enjoy shrub roses that are orange, purple, bluish, or pastel (brownish as well) in color ( basically, no strong pinks or reds). I am from the Appalachian region of Tennessee, so my zone is on the border of 6b and 7a. I don’t have a goal in mind at this point for what results I would like to achieve, but I would like to begin with these colors. Advice on some good parents would be much appreciated.

2. How does polyploidy affect the viability of producing a new plant? do I need to breed a diploid with another diploid, or can they have different ploidity?

3. Is it a good idea to try and incorporate native/species roses into my hybrids (i.e. r. carolina, r. arkansasa) ? I’d be interested in seeing how these plants affect the outcomes of the genetics.

I appreciate any advice that you all may have.

I haven’t had a lot of success with the few purple shrubs I have tried.
Twilight zone got black spot terribly. It didn’t set any hips and due to the blackspot I didn’t try using it’s pollen. Munstead Wood was better for disease but didn’t accept most of the pollen I put on it. I did get one hip from it. It’s pollen, however, was accepted by several different seed parents, no knowledge yet of what it has passed on to seedlings.
I am hoping to continue using Munstead Wood pollen but am looking to gallica and Moss roses for more purple. That is a much longer road than you may want.
With orange I have had some success with Lady of Shallot (pollen) and Lady Emma Hamilton (seed). You may wish to look in a different direction if disease resistance is one of your goals.