My HT ideas are itchin'

Ive been ignoring my HT breeding ideas for a few years, but my mind has decided to continue progress this year. I think it really helped out to narrow down what is healthy, vigorous, easy to grow, and so on, from the piles and piles of junk out there.

Portland Nursery had Grande Amore for sale, so I bought one. I was so excited – an easy-to-grow red that can be used for the garden and the vase. Brilliant idea.

I know that HTs are not especially popular here nowdays, but I still love them, too. Royal Philharmonic is such a grace HT, and it could easily be useful for breeding newer and better shrubs, minis, climbers, and, especially, floribundas. Some of these newer HTs take the “giant stick plant” out of the HT, while still retaining graceful blooms.

As an example, I aim on trying Grande Amore x Golden Eye, Solitaire x Grande Amore, Grande Amore x Winter Sunset, and Carefree Marvel x Grande Amore. So many possibilities can open up with some of these newer HTs.

I’m excited about this :] I also think likewise for the new grandiflora, Sunshine Daydream. It may be a pastel yellow, but you can see that rose from 2 blocks away. It literaly glows, and its healthy and compact. Win/Win/Win.

Michael,

Great planned crosses there! Would something like ‘Pretty Lady’ fit into your plans? What a great all around plant.

It’s interesting to realize how few of the modern HT’s I’m even familiar with. I was just thinking about this. I think that, having long ago burned out on the high-maintenance, thorny sticks having bad hair days, but with the occasional spectacular bloom, I have avoided the class, and yet, as I start to get back into this, I found myself wondering about marrying the best of the HT with shrub roses, and wondered what awesome new cultivars were already out there of which I was unaware.