I need help

This year I think I will have large numbers of seeds (for me) so will need to try sowing in flats or possibly setting up raised bed for sowing.

What methods are being used for direct sowing?

How much space is allowed per seed?

What soil mediums are used for direct seeding?

Any other requirements.

Any advice will be appreciated as my results last year where Zero from about 200 seeds sown on sand in plastic trays @ 1cm X 1cm spacing(1/2 of these seeds were from a late pollination attempt so may not have matured properly) but I still hoped for much better results.

So far I have raised 3 plants in 2 years which is very depressing

Help please; Russ.

I’m by no means an expert, but I plan on following the experts’ advise. Check Jim Sproul’s web site here:

http://sproulrosesbydesign.com/wintertime_in_the_rose_breeders_.htm

Paul Barden has more information and links than you can get from just about any source:

http://www.paulbardenroses.com/main.html

I check both sites often. There are several other RHA members that have good sites as well.

I would also recommend, if you have not purchased already, the literature the RHA has for sale.

Jeff

Russ, There is hope. I only had 5 seedlings from two yrs. effort, of which only two have bloomed, and I planted both into the garden because they looked good considering the position of having nothing. I will be removing one of them tomorrow, because this yr. I have over 700 seedlings, (and they are continuing to sprout, but have slowed down considerably) and today I planted out the first ten that I considered decent(my standards are not very high yet-if it looks good, I’m very happy with it and consider it a success). I am down to approximately 300 seedlings, with about 100 yet to bloom, and an easy 100 more to “discard”, although I have found that hard to do, even though I can see that they are inferior.