How do you handle hips that ripen early.

I have 10 hips on La Belle Sultane that have already turned color - a good fall orange. There is still a small bit of green, but it is mostly gone.

The problem is that I have to leave on vacation starting July 1st and will not be back until mid-month. I am afraid something will see the change in color and make a snack out of this years crosses while I’m gone. I have no previous experience with hips from LBS, so I suppose there is also and outside chance the hips could fall off while I’m not looking too.

In any case, do you think I should take the hips early, or just let nature take its course. I do have someone coming to water who could keep watch on the outside chance the hips fall, but that will not help with the other problem.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

JoeB

Or you could bag them in a piece of net-like fabric (even old pantyhose or some such thing–such as from the plastic net bags a lot of oranges come in).

You didn’t say where you are, but the end of June seems pretty early for true fall coloring unless you’re in the Deep South of the US and made your crosses in February or you’re in the southern hemisphere and it is winter. Have you seen the hips on this variety before so that you know this is good fall orange? I’m not familiar with LBS.

Peter

I’ve got hips ripening early too. In fact the whole hip is starting to shrivel in a few cases but it’s obvious they contain seed as even exogenous seed is present. I’ve been trying to decide what to do with them as well. We do get very early flowering here and the seed is no doubt mature.

I am north of Austin, Texas. These were crossed the first week of April. Seems real early to me too.

JoeB

FWIW La Belle will sometimes hold onto hips into the next year. I have a large dense patch of LBS and some had blooms on canes that still held last spring’s hips.