Hip Maturity

I’m in my first year of breeding roses and have a question about hip maturity. From my reading of the RHA material I understand that the hips should grow for 16 weeks. Should they stay on the rose as long as possible or is it okay to harvest now?

It’s generally safe to harvest at 120 days, IF they stay on that long.

Some drop. It’s easy to lose them and or the label once they do.

Some might advise leave them longer if you’re so inclined.

If the sepals are dry I would go ahead and harvest. Not all hips turn orange.

Hi Jeff.

I did a seed viabitiy/germination comparison on two OP Queen Elizabeth hips this winter just past.

One hip was orange and shrivelling, and the other was just starting to show orange color.

After actually removing the seeds from their hard outer coat, most of the seeds in the shrivelling hip were dried out and dead, whereas nearly all of the seeds in the fresher hip were plump.

In the end the shrivelling hip produced two plants (one died), and the fresher hip produced ten plants (all ok).

George.

I have some hips that are turning yellow and orange, but the ink I used on some of the tags is barely visible, very cheap ink… Could I harvest these hips now because of the color change in the hips? I was going to put the hips in the frig for a couple of weeks anyway before I take the seeds out. What do you think?

Also I opened up a few of my hips that I could read the dates on and they were at least 115-120 days old, they were all black inside, seeds and all, but by looking at the outside of the hips you would have never known it, the outer coat of the hips were clean and very fresh, I cannot understand why they would turn black inside, would someone here know why this would happen?

Sometimes moisture gets into the hip from from the top and rots out the seed.

Whether you should harvest depends on your climate. If you feel it’s been close to 120 days you could harvest.

Use a regular #2 pencil. It won’t fade and lasts forever.