Hardwood cuttings and callusing

This should have been obvious, but after much trial and error in my Zone 5 basement and garage, I found the refrigerator works perfectly. I have a shelf at 38 degrees where cuttings callus in about a month with no bud break, which had been the problem elsewhere. (I’m probably just announcing that I’m the last person to discover this.)

Very interesting! I’m going to try it. Do you do anything to protect the cuttings from drying out? Thanks for posting this!

I was just going to do the newspaper burrito method as has been described here. I thought for successful callousing it needed really warm temps, like 75 degrees. So I’m confused. Thirty eight seems really cold. I am not an expert. I thought root development needed warm temps. Always learning something new, but now I don’t know what to do. I guess when I used the burrito method before there was significant bud break, but I had to tent them after potting up to gradually acclimate them to the air.

I had no luck with warm moist conditions at getting viable plants from hardwood cuttings. On the other hand the rootstock people back in the day always stuck cuttings directly in the ground at whatever was the ambient temp in a mild climate. That’s how we got Dr Huey in its splendid abundance. Some kinds of hardwood cuttings just turn black and rot in the refrigerator, with no effort to make callus. I do know that, from keeping autumn budwood too long refrigerated. I prefer to have some leaves on when making a cutting. Just yesterday I stuck a few from plants I was shipping out after they’d had some good hard frosts to go dormant with. Few leaves, not on all cuttings. Will watch and see.

I would like to try this refrigerator method. Where are you sticking the cuttings after they callus? At what temperature?
The burrito method always gives me great calluses, but the buds break and the cuttings die without rooting, pretty much invariably.