Foliage desires for new lines...

OK, so here ‘tis. In the Hyde Hall thread, the topic of foliage traits – such as glaucous grey color – and their heritability came up. I’m curious as to others’ experiences in breeding for unusual foliar attributes. Some of the things I was curious about include foliage of species such as, as mentioned, R. glauca, R. fedtshenkoana, petite scotch’s and species of pimpinellifoliae with finely textured foliage, and variegated foliage. (Any other welcome as well…)

Obviously, glossy, or rugose texture, or shape and size of leaves, are inheritable. Variagated coloring seems pretty unpredictable…

What goals do you think worth pursueing and what routes do you think might be effective?

Alas, I have no experience along these lines to contribute!

-Philip

Since I brought the topic up, I’m happy to respond to Philip’s posting. I appreciate his effort to continue talking about this subject. Hopefully, it will stimulate efforts to develop breeding programs that consider all the shrub’s characteristics and not just flowers. Too much emphasis has been placed on flowers, and as a result the rose is not maximized to its optimum use in the landscape.

I think the consensus would be that Rosa glauca has the most potential to develop hybrids with attractive foliage. Considering its potential, the results to date are very disappointing. The best hybrid to date is ‘Louis Riel’. Its white flowers are an excellent contrast to the reddish foliage. But where are the semi-double, deep pink and red flowers that would be a deadly combination with the foliage? They don’t exist, of course.