Fertilizer Factories

So does anyone know how to deal with all of the fertilizer that these factories produce??? We have two of them in our backyard.

Is there anything that you can treat the manure with to keep the flies away? Do you just spread it out to dry? Is there anything that you need to do to prepare it for use on the rose beds? How soon can it be used?

I’m new at shoveling it! I’ve bought it at the nursery, but this is different.

Thanks!

Jim Sproul

It’s great stuff. I wish I still had access.

You can use it fresh on established specimens, as long as it’s watered in well, and depending on whether weeds seeds in the material are an issue.

If you’re going to compost covering with black plastic or a tarp helps with flies, but you’re always going to have more flies than you would otherwise.

Congrats.

We start with a large pile in spring; turn it 3 or 4 times (this is a lot of work if you are doing it by hand); by fall, it looks like black dirt; flies aren’t a problem here.

The black plastic that Robert mentioned is great. If you completely cover it and weigh down the edges it will get so hot (over 60 degrees Celcius) it will kill almost everything, including weed seeds and any fly larvae.

Jim

I lived in Leisure World( a senior living complex) in Laguna Hills for 2 years. Horses were kept there for owners who brought them with them. They were not pastured but kept in their stalls except when taken out for riding, etc. Wood shavings were used in the stalls.