Exposed seeds on top of hip

A few of my green hips have seeds across the top that are currently red in color.
Are these definitely already dead?

I have been spraying my plants and their hips with fungicide.

If not yet dead, is it possible to harvest these few top seeds without damaging the rest of the hip that needs to ripen further? Has anyone ever tried this?

If I harvest these exposed seeds at the regular harvest date (early-mid October) and scarify to expose the inner seed core, is there any chance of germination?

This is my first year back into rose breeding, and because my plant numbers are low and I will have few hips to harvest, I am looking to save as many seeds as possible.

Cathy
Central New Jersey, still 1.5 to 2.0 months to go before hip harvest time

Cathy, I experienced the same thing last year—red exposed seeds. The forum was so helpful in explaining to me that those are exogenous seeds (outside of the hip). In my case, the hips that have them, are generally also “bursting at the seams” with other seeds. The redness may be from the sun scalding those exposed seeds. I received so much good information from people ont his forum regarding this phenomenon. You can probably find the thread by going to advanced search in the upper right hand corner and typing in the word exogenous. This is such a wonderful educational tool.

Also, in my case, it was mainly the open pollinated hips that did this. I sowed the exogenous seeds with the other open pollinated seed, realizing I had nothing to lose. Looking back, I wish I’d sown them separately just to see how the results compared.