Diploid to tetraploid in Clematis vs. Rosa genus

I’m an amateur Clematis breeder who, given the dearth of good information on breeding in this genus, find myself digging into articles and discussions about breeding other genera (like roses!). Over the past decade common ideas emerge that have been helpful to me that I can then apply to Clematis.

This forum has been a favorite of mine for information on ploidy level discussion and I’m wondering if anyone could give me some general feedback on two things I’m trying.

The Clematis genus is for the most part 2n = 2x = 16, though making crosses across species still comes with many barriers. There are around 300 Clematis species and much of the germplasm has never been introgressed into the more ornamental species and hybrids.

I’ve been experimenting with converting Clematis diploids (most species and hybrids) to tetraploid and am wondering if any of you rose breeders could weigh in on my issues below. There just aren’t communities on the web focused on Clematis breeding, but I imagine there are analogous issues.

I’d like to be able to do two things:

1. Convert species from diploid (most Clematis species) to tetraploid. To do this I’m using 7-10 day old seedlings.

2. Convert existing hybrids from diploid to tetraploid. To do this I’m using dormant cuttings so that I can treat the visible, not-yet-growing buds.

I’m currently using Oryzalin (still have an old bottle of Surflan) and have not tried Treflan/Trifluralin or colchicine. I’ve also not tried in vitro/TC, though I do have experience rooting Clematis in vitro. Here are my methods and my problems.

To covert young seedlings using Oryzalin there seem to be three methods:

• misting anti-mitotic on seedlings over a multiple-day period (pros: easy, cons: you don’t then rinse it off afterward)