Could it be...RRD?

One stem of a potted Yellow Brick Road in greenhouse showed this funky thorniness. I’ve since tossed it out.

We don’t have any native R. multiflora around here, and I’ve never seen anything resembling RRD before. (although I’ve since seen one stem of L83 out in the field that looks a little funky)

Anyone want to register an opinion based on the photograph below?
IMG_3186.jpg

Joe, I’m no expert but any time I’ve seen RRD there has been a lot of red coloring involved with both leaves and stems.

Could be. The morphology is right although I might expect greater narrowing of the leaves and more than a single affected shoot.

The lack of red coloration could easily be due to the absence or near absence of anthocyanin genes. It seems to me that a principle symptom of RRD is a hyperactive meristem with overproduction of secondary plant products. If the plant lacks the machinery for producing anthocyanins (or it is hobbled) then there is nothing for the virus to overstimulate.

Still, it is not unusual for a such a shoot to appear on a plant that is otherwise quite healthy. Other things than viruses can overstimulate growth. I would have kept the plant and watched for other symptoms while applying liberal doses of miticide all around.