Colors in Striped Roses

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here, I always wanted to do this too, but never could muster up enough courage. Anyway here I am, I have been breeding roses for about 4 years now and have become very interested in striped roses and all of the many varied colors. And since many of you are well known rose breeders I would like to ask if you have a certain technique in getting specific colors in striped roses. I have a color combination that I would like to achieve in a striped rose and I donā€™t know if trying to get certain colors for striped roses was just a possibility that may or may not happen. I hope my question is not too out of the ordinary. Thank you for any advice you can offer.

Jeanie

Jeanie,

It would be useful to know what color combination you are hoping for. :slight_smile: One of us can then tailor the answer for your specific goals.

Regards,

Paul

If Iā€™m not mistaken, striping, in any flower, is a developmental switch process, like in maize seed coat colors. I donā€™t think there is a gene for striping as such. There are developmental timing controls on color genes that result in striping expression.

So if you have a petal that is naturally a blend of two colors, you could get stripes with both colors combined, and stripes of only one color as the ground color. For instance if both red and yellow pigments are present giving a brilliant red/orange then you might see red on yellow as the stripe effect. Austrian Copper/Austrian Yellow is a common example of that switching process, thought it doesnā€™t give neat stripes.