Chip Budding Questions

I have some background knowledge (and supplies) from years of grafting apples and chestnuts, and am hoping to transfer these into chip budding of roses, something that I’ve not previously tried. I have a couple questions that perhaps forum members can shed light on:

1. What is the appropriate window of time for chip budding? I had previously thought that it was at bud swell, perhaps about early spring. But I’ve recently heard that chip budding can be done at any time of the year, and heard at least one account of it being done when roses are fully dormant. Is this so?
  2. Is one able to chip bud onto cuttings of easily-rooted types, thus merging the rootstock cutting and scion budding steps into one?

This is something that I have wanted to gain experience in anyway, but it is more urgently on my mind because of a rose that has quite a bit of sentimental value to my wife. The rose was owned by her paternal grandmother, and the rose suffered a rough (very rushed) transplant when we (my wife and I) visited the home for a last time before it was sold. The rose has done poorly since, and in spite of our efforts at winter protection it will probably do poorly this winter as well. I have considered budding it now (December) onto cuttings of something like ‘Pink Clouds’, storing the budded cuttings in the refrigerator over winter, and sticking them in the cuttings bed in the spring. Any input from those more experienced with budding would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

Hi Matt!