Can Somebody Explain 'Replicative Fading'?

I have obtained several rose books for a Christmas gift. One of them mentions the concept of ‘replicative fading’. I am rather confused as to what this exactly entails. The book used ‘Peace’ as an example of a rose that has been regarded through reckless duplication via cutting. So, are the cuttings in fact genetically indentical, or not (the text seemed to indicate otherwise…). I want to learn more about this concept - does anyone have any materials to read that they would recommend?

For reference, the book is ‘Right Rose, Right Place’ by Peter Schneider, and the above question comes from p. 148 of the 2009 edition.

That’s a great question… I assume they mean that through many years and propagation cycles plants begin to show “drift” / decline in terms of performance, especially if careful attention isn’t given to propagating from just the most representative plants. For part of my Ph.D. I studied performance of side by side grown plants of different growers’ bulbs of ‘Nellie White’ Easter lily. There aren’t very many old cultivars where people have obtained plants from different growers that propagated them independently for many years and grew the plants side by side over time to compare their performance and try to ascertain some of the reasons for the differences. I tried to do some DNA fingerprinting comparing the lilies, but the techniques I tried at the time weren’t robust enough. Here is a link to the article where I grew the plants over two flowering cycles and reported phenotypic data Clonal Variability among Grower Bulb Lots of Easter Lily ‘Nellie White’ in: Journal of the American Society for Horticultural Science Volume 132 Issue 1 (2007)