Breeding a rose similar to Juliet rose

Hello everybody,

I have been fascinated with the beauty of Juliet rose (ausjameson), and even though I know it is bred as a florists rose ( maybe not so healthy as a garden rose) I would like to try breeding something that comes near this rose in form, petal thickness, flower size, habit, petal count and overall appearance. Scent is not so important. Any color would be fine.
The only rose that I know, which in my opinion, comes close to Juliet rose in many aspects, is The lady gardener.
I am completely new in rose breeding and would be grateful to get some insights and knowledge about this rose or roses with the same characteristics.

I really like the idea of getting a rose with more than 100 thick petals and a very symmetric distribution of petals, just like Juliet.

1 Like

My experience with highly petaled flowers is that they ball and rot in rainy climates. I’ve had a few that look magnificent as protected indoor seedlings, but would never even get the chance to open outdoors. I would conjecture that this fact is likely the reason Juliet is classed a florist’s rose.

2 Likes

That form was common prior to our unnatural selection for the high-centered HT form over a century ago. Raising types with an OGR shape is not difficult nor does it require using an Austin rose. This is one I raised from Blue for You crossed with my FIAPMC. 'FIAPMC' Rose.
blue for you x FIAPMC (1)
blue for you x FIAPMC (4)
blue for you x fiapmc (10)
blue for you x fiapmc (11)
blue for you x fiapmc (15)

You want a Premium Membership to Help Me Find-Roses https://www.helpmefind.com/rose/index.php (ONLY $24 a year) so you can research all known, listed parentage information so you can see what resulted in the traits you desire and gain a feeling for what you may wish to use to create the bloom you desire.

6 Likes