A sport or just quirky news...

Hi all. I’m a beginner, at the stage where I am raising seedlings from the random hips gathered when I prune my elderly aunt and mother’s roses each winter when I visit them in San Diego. This is in practice for when I can raise my own crosses. When my husband an I retire next year, we hope to relocate to northern San Diego county. I’ve raised about twenty seedlings each year for the last two seasons. Despite what I read in these entries, I have a terrible time consigning the homelier and less vigorous roses to the compost pile. Of course, the very harsh conditions here [bitter winters, nasty late frosts (The native oaks, maples, and ashes have had to re-leaf out in July after an especially brutal spring.), Japanese beetles, and other critters have culled quite a few for me. The rest will huddle under lights for this winter, as they did the last, in the basement.

I have always been interested in how roses surprise us by sporting. I have grown and been delighted by Vick’s Caprice and Madame Pierre Oger. I have admired Cl. Mlle. Cecile Brunner, Happenstance, the many versions of Radiance and Ophelia and Peace, and the occasional quirkinesses in my gardens over the years and the fascinating entries here in the Forum. Your notes about the effects of bud selection on the characteristics of budded plants are amazing.