2 Questions: Pollination, sinkers & floaters

I’m just a hobbyist-- I haven’t attempted making crosses of my own (although many fascinating possibilities have occured to me!). Instead, I just grow the OP seeds. I have two questions:

1. In your experience, do you have any idea of roughly what percentage of OP seeds are self-pollinated? I guess I should mention that my roses are all modern (at this point) and are primarily HTs and floribundas. I realize some types of roses(rugosas?) shed their pollen quite early, which would increase the likelihood of self-pollination.

2. Have you verified the sinking/floating seed germination idea which is commonly accepted? I can’t remember which, but I remember one rose hybridizer saying he ignored that as he had “floaters” germinate. I’m doing an experiment this year and on batches of seeds which are large, I’m dividing them up between “sinkers” and “floaters” pre-stratification. I’m waiting to see if I have a dramatic difference in germination between those sets. Just wondering if your experience validated this common belief.

Thanks in advance for your answers. Someone at the Rose Forum at Gardenweb gave me a heads-up about this forum and I’ve been reading with great fascination and enjoyment since then.

Alicia

I’d guess that most OP seeds from modern roses are from self-pollination, although I couldn’t give you a percentage.

Some floaters do germinate. It may depend partly on the seed parent. Some varieties of rugosas only produce floaters, but the seeds germinate very well.

I agree with Jim. It seems that many diploid roses are self-incompatible and many modern tetraploid or even some triploids can readily set seed from self-fertilization.