Speaking of speckled roses...!!

Jackpot!!

I’ve been walking almost daily down this one road near me for almost fifteen years, and never noticed a rose in the ditch there before. Noticed one a couple of weeks ago and today it bloomed!

I’m sure it’s R. arkansana. I have one such on my property, but it’s a pale pink with just a few darker spots up the center of each petal. This one… wow… oh, wow… I dug up as many suckers as I could but only a few had enough roots to plant outside, so the rest are in pots. Will be passing by every day to collect pollen. Pardon me while I bounce around for a while burbling with delight!

What a great find!

Yes, I expect that is R. arkansana, as a clone is known to occasionally turn up with markings like that. I think Kim Rupert once found one like this and named it ‘Peppermint’, I believe.

I was thinking of calling this one “Dots Enough.”

Beautiful photo Fara. That name made me laugh!

Jim Sproul

Oh, lovely!! I hope it passes on the speckling for you.

thanks for the compliments, all. I should mention that unlike the arkansana that grows in my garden, this one has a slight but quite nice fragrance. It also produces pollen like a champ and I’m collecting as much as I can.

All I can say is WOW!!!

Fa, what will you cross this with? I am using The Imposter, a speckled rose, and was thinking of crossing it with Moore’s Striped Rugosa.

Dang, no edit button to fix that I called you Fa instead of Fara Shimbo!! Sorry!

Sharon, “Fa” is perfectly okay! Feel free to use it!

As to what I’m crossing it with, this year, probably everything, just to see how it performs with different classes of roses, and to see how heritable the spotting is. So far I’ve crossed it with Persian Yellow and the Fort Pella Purple, which might be Violette and might not. Waiting for everything else to bloom.