Some hips aborting

This is my first year with breeding roses so this may be a normal occurrence.

All of the hips that I’ve put Hot Cocoa and Livin’ Easy on have dried up and fallen off the plant. It seems a little strange since some of the blooms on the same stems that did not get pollinated (at least by me) are plump and look happy. Is this unusual or did I possiblty contaminate the pollen some how? Most of the other crosses I’ve made seem to be doing okay. Thanks to all that recommended using Cal Poly as a seed parent.

I’ve scratched my head over this one and have not seen anything in previous discussions or literature from the RHA.

this may be a normal occurrence

Cross-incompatablity is very normal. Some varieties are great mothers and take pollen from nearly any other rose, but most are at least somewhat picky and some are completelty recalcitrant to pollenation (seed-sterile).

Hips can abort even when seeds does set so it is a good idea to check the fallen hips for seeds. If this is the case then the most likely reason is over-fertilizing after the hips formed. However, they sometimes just abort for no apparent reason.

I have put 15 different pollens on Hot Cocoa from which, so far, I have viable hips from Persian Peach, R. wichuraiana, Veilchenblau and Fashion. It’s too soon to tell whether the others will abort but it will not surprise me if they do.

Don:

Thanks for the information. I was thinking that I contaminated the pollen in some way. I’m glad I took notes on he crosses that I made.

I really like the Hot Cocoa and Livin’ Easy and have been hoping to get some minis with similar colors.

Jeff,

Apart from Hot Cocoa and Lvnin’ Easy, did you try any additional crosses on Cal Poly?

George.

See: http://home.roadrunner.com/~kuska/sprayingthehip.htm

Link: home.roadrunner.com/~kuska/sprayingthehip.htm

George:

I made crosses of Cal Poly with Crested Moss, and Pascalli as well as the reverse. Livin’ Easy and Hot Cocoa seemsed to be a bust this year.