Rugosas with reliable Hip formation?....and jam....

The following is a list of rugosas offered by a certain wholesale grower in Ontario. I have little experience with rugosas, so can you tell me which ones are reliable for setting good hip with another variety?

Are any of these capable of selfing followed by hip?

For those experienced making rose jam, which varieties are best suited for this purpose?

Hansa

Belle Poitevine

Jens Munk

Blanc de Coubert

Blanc Double de Coubert

Charles Albanel

Henry Hudson

David Thompson

Sir Thomas Lipton

F.J. Grootendorst

Pink Grootendorst

Hunter

Linda Campbell

Theresa Bugnet

Marie-Bugnet

Roseraie de l’Hay

Martin Frobisher

Pink Pavement

Purple Pavement

Scarlet Pavement

Snow Pavement

Topaz Jewel

Dee,

Food products made from rose hips is a subject that interests me very much. While breeding work in this respect has been done in Europe, virtually nothing has been done in North America. It is a deplorable situation, since several of our native species have a lot of potential in this regard. On the Canadian Prairies, for example, Rosa woodsii is very productive of hips. A breeding program with this species and Rosa rugosa could maintain cold hardiness, increase productivity, improve ratio of flesh/seeds and perhaps also increase the Vitamin C content found in Rosa rugosa. It is likely the ‘Carlos Dawn’ and ‘Lac La Nonne’ cultivars are hybrids of Rosa rugosa cultivars and Rosa woodsii. They are relatively productive of hips.

The best Rugosas for hips are the species (Rosa rugosa alba,R.rugosa rubra) and cultivars selected from the species, including those that have sported from single or semi-double to double flowers (eg., ‘Hansa’). Also, cultivars that have been hybridized from pure Rugosa cultivars (eg., the Pavement Rugosas). ‘Mont Blanc’, ‘Monte Cassino’ and ‘Monte Rosa’, while they are productive of hips, appear to be not pure Rugosa and I’m not sure of the flavour of the hips.