Polstj

Paul O. has mentioned that he thought Polstj

I have no practical experience with Polstj

I have Polstj

Hi David,

Thanks for the ploidy information, I’m always pleased to add another diploid to my list, and hear you go and pull two out of the hat. Can’t fault you

I suspected that Polstj

Isn’t it odd Ross Rambler is so hardy? I thought roses adpated to Northern climates tended to exhibit polyploidy?

I think one has to be careful if he/she has the true ‘Ross Rambler’. It was so rare at one time that I don’t think it could be 100% identifed when it began to be distributed as that cultivar. Even the shrub at the Indian Head, Saskatchewan PFRA Tree Nursery that appears to be ‘Ross Rambler’, since it is unlabelled cannot be absolutely identified as this cultivar. This is the location where ‘Ross Rambler’ was discovered. On the other hand, I find it interesting that David Z. has determined his ‘Ross Rambler’ to be a diploid. This would fit the speculation that ‘Ross Rambler’ is a selection of Rosa beggeriana, a diploid species.

I agree with Jinks, despite that ‘Polstjarnan’ has limited fertility both ways, it shouldn’t be given up to use in a breeding program. Especially to develop cold hardy Climbers. I still think the way to go is to cross it with Rosa acicularis to develop a very cold hardy tetraploid breeding line. If such a breeding line could be developed, I very much like the fact that Rosa multiflora in the parentage of ‘Polstjarnan’ would result in the potential to eventually produce progeny having clusters of many flowers.

Is Ross Rambler fully fertile?

I grew Polstjarnan for a few years. Few stamens and few op hips with few seeds. Gave up on it.

Jinks,

I am in France and bought my Polstjarnan last year from mail-order Danish company:

http://www.rosenposten.dk/index2.asp?cb=07-03-2006+17%3A06%3A59_282

Ilya