Please help me

Hi, I’m an 18yr old student from South Africa and have a passion for roses.I don’t have the experience like you guys so please bear with me, I have only started to hybridize but am on the verge of giving up as the little problems I encounter are becoming huge one’s due to the lack of guidance and support. I have read all the websites they are to hybidizing but I still have a few problems. Please don’t ignore my request as I would really love to be successful, any form of help will be greatly appreciated.I have hybrid tea roses which are about a year and a half old and they are ever-bloomers. I live in Richards Bay where the days are warm and we are currently in Autumn (but my roses are quite healthy and have a number of blooms)we also don’t experience any snow, neither do we have harsh winters. I know that many say that roses should be pollinated in spring but is there even a little chance of it being successful if I were to try it now? I really want to get started, so can everbloomers be pollinated at any time of year? can I give it a try, as many of my blooms would be half to quartely open in a week or so. I did a bit of hybridizing recently, but encountered a little confusion when I did not see any secretion from the emasculated bloom, any tips as to when it can be seen or felt( should the bloom be emasculated at half or quartely open? ), and around when should it be seen. I was very determined so I pollinated the rose anyway, I had a look at it today but the sigmas are becoming dry, I sincerly hope that the hip will form.

Hope there is a chance of being able to hybridize the everbloomers. Here in SA help is scarce so I’m counting on anyone just to offer me some help is this regard.

Best wishes to you

Kevin

Hello Kevin,