Lots of Questions

Hey all,

Well, I’ve finally decided to try my hand at this and was directed to this site. I may break this into separate posts so its not too lengthy.

I have some basic genetics knowledge, but I’m obviously missing something relative to quadrivalent formation. I read the article on Glossy vs. Dull Foliage. The article states that the one parent has a Gggg while the other parent has a gggg. I arrive at 16 possible combinations with a ratio of 25% glossy. The article states an expected ratio of 15:13. What am I missing here? I’m thinking that I’m somehow losing it in the division area. I also don’t understand the statement that “any two of these may be segregated at random to the gametes”.

Can someone please explain this to me or direct me to where I can find a “rose genetics for dummies” explanation.

Thanks.

Melanie

Melanie,

I thought that I might take a crack at your original question, regarding the inheritance of traits in tetraploid roses. Even if the trait really is controlled by only one gene, the article you read has over-simplified the situation. There are extra variables in tetraploid inheritance, and you are sometimes forced to make assumptions with very little information. For example, do the 4 copies of the same chromosome form 1 group of 4 (tetravalent) or 2 groups of 2 (bivalents). The article you mentioned assumes 1 tetravalent, but what little scientific literature I have seen indicates that the actual situation is mixed: Sometimes a tetravalent forms, and sometimes the same rose may make 2 bivalents instead.

Each of these assumptions leads to different numbers, but the situation can be summed up easily enough: Recessive phenotypes are much rarer in tetraploid crosses than in diploid crosses. Probably the most important trait that is recessive (and therefore difficult to regain once lost in a cross) is the ability to bloom recurrently. Once-a-year bloom is dominant.

Hey Roger,

That’s interesting. Thanks for the info.