Inspired by this forum

I want to thank each of you who contribute to this forum for giving me a goal to work towards. I have been attempting to hybridize roses now for a couple of years, and basicly breeding junk through what someone called “the lottery method.” Buy a rose with a bloom you like, cross it with a rose that has a bloom you like, and hope for a miracle seedling. I have been “bloom blinded!” I was floored when I came across this forum and read that alot of you were going back to the species roses and working out from there to create what someone (I think it was Henry Kuska) called breeding lines. Sacrifice the coveted bloom form for good health and great folliage, and then perhaps if a line can be started in which theses traits are reasonably set, work on bloom form.

So my new goal is to concentrate on breeding for a dense habit,in size about 3’x3’ to 4’x4’, healthy foliage of a quality that even if the plant didn’t bloom the foliage itself would be reason enough to grow it. Shade tolerance, and growing well in poor soil would also be a plus. That’s not asking to much is it? (Ha Ha)

Being “bloom blind” I have stayed away from once blooming roses but now to reach my goal I must go to them. I have been taking note of the different types of foliage and there are a few that I really like. Before I list them I must admit that I am ignorant of most of the species roses and could really use your help in this area. The traits that I admire in the already established lines of roses had to come from the species roses but I wouldn’t know what species to use to breed for those traits. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

The ones that I like are: