I have just harvest hips from my garden, but what then?

Hi everyone

This is my first attempt to make my own roses from seeds.

I have just taken some hips from my garden (in Denmark). I am unsure if I shall put the hips in the refrigerator for a month or so first, or take the seeds out of the hips now, and then put the seeds in the refrigerator. I have collected OP hips from Bonica 82, New Dawn and Santana.

I have read some articles about this procedure, but it seems that there are lots of different opinions on this suspect.

Looking forward to get your opinion, thanks.

Regards

Bo

Denmark

Bo,

I have done it both ways and found that either way works. In the past 3 years I have left the hips intact in a cool room (about 60F) for at least a month before putting them in the fridge. I move them to the fridge and then leave them for about another month and THEN I start removing the achenes (Seeds) from the hips. They go back into the fridge for another 8 weeks and are then sown in flats in an unheated greenhouse. (Temps rarely go below 32F from that point on)

Many other people will tell you that they remove the achenes from the hips immediately after harvest. Others leave the hips intact until just before sowing, allowing the hips to degrade naturally. I don’t think there is a clear “wrong” way to do it, so don’t get too concerned over this aspect of the task.

At any rate, you need to allow about 12 weeks for proper stratification (chilling) of the seed, so its getting to be time that they were in the fridge, one way or another.

Best of luck!

Paul

Link: www.rdrop.com/~paul/mini.breeding.html

Bo, there are lots of opinions because many things work.