Hello I am Carl and i am a Roseaholic

Hello all

Ive been lurking here in the shadows for a few months finally getting back to my love of roses and breeding. A little bit about me, I started growing when i was 16 i had joined a local rose society and was a member but short few years , i left because all they ever did and talked about was showing… that was the furthest from my interests. I had joined the ARS and enjoyed that for many years. at my peak i had over 500 varieties of Ht,Gr and minis and a small handful of floribundsa’s. I bred alot then ( i call it breeding because i wasn’t trying to make a new hybrid) i had several “babies” that were mine and only mine. I had to give that all up 15 years ago and move into an apt. I grew roses on my patio as annuals. Breeding was difficult as i didn’t have much to work with. Now i’ve been growing my rose sin pots for 15 years, i no longer have to treat them as annuals as i bring them in and place them into an indoor grow room with lights and this has worked well for 5 years now. I live in Iowa and i am 2nd floor so my micro climate is really bad lol.