Cut roses

Hi there,

First, i’m a total beginner…

I’ve read almost all of your articles, and websites and stuff and i’m very happy you guys share all this knowledge.

Just one question, does somebody use commercial cut roses for their breeding program? I’d love to use these varieties, but cant’t find anything about them. Are most of them sterile? Is it possible to use them?

I hope somebody would take the time to reply!

(excuse me for my horrible English language, i’m from The Netherlands!)

Greetings,

Maria

Many varieties grown for cut flower production aren’t very good in the garden.

Most cult rose crops are sprayed regularly for disease. There is no way of telling if they have disease resistance to make them desirable as breeding subjects.

Many times the blossoms are stored too long to be good for pollen but I know there are those who here have used them successfully for that purpose.

Maria

Cut roses are bred to be greenhouse grown. Generaly they are very erect growing with long stems (many too tall for garden use) and little foliage desease resistance. Particularly Black Spot to which they are not exposed in greenhouses.

They also are bred for slow opening long standing in water and strong hard petal. So much some never open on the plant.

However there are notable exceptions. I.e. Sonia Meilland that is as good for cut flower as it is as garden plant in most areas.

I now have 4 (Folksinger X red florist hybrid tea) seedlings planted out. It is too early to draw any conclusions.

I would only use them to bring in new colors. Otherwise, I dont see the purpose unless you are desperate for pollen or want to make florist roses. Some exhibitors in southern states use them in breeding for exhibition, but theyre not usually great for most rose growers. Also, they often have small flowers on stringy plants when grown in the garden. they look highly disproportionate.

Hoi Maria (ik ben ook Nederlands),