A couple basic questions

I am very new to hybridizing, in fact I am playing with open-pollinated hips for the first time to get the hang of collecting and growing seeds before I try any of my own crosses. My first question is, does anyone have pictures of what healthy, mature rose seeds look like? When Im opening up the hips, I’m not exactly sure what I’m looking for. Also, I’m planning on planting new roses this spring that I want to use for parent plants (Scarlet Moss, Rouge Moss, Dresden Doll, etc.)and I’m wondering if I can start breeding them this year, or if I should give them a season to mature and practice on some of my other roses in the meantime. Thanks for any suggestions! Kate

Kate,

You’ll find a pretty good article (with pictures) online at How to Grow Roses From Seed

This was good enough to be reprinted in 2 parts in the Spring and Summer 2003 issues of the Rose Hybridizers’ Association Newsletter.

If you are not yet a member of the RHA, I’d encourage you to join. See http://www.rosehybridizers.org/join.html . For $10 per year, you get 4 newsletters with good articles on all phases of hybridizing. In addition, RHA has 2 publications which would answer a lot of your questions on the process of hybridizing, on rose genetics, etc. These are available for a very reasonable price. See http://www.rosehybridizers.org/nextstep.html . You could go out and spend $30 on a dinner for one at a low-to-moderately priced restaurant, and know nothing more about rose hybridizing–or join and buy the two publications and have reference works at your fingertips, and still have enough change left to buy coffee to drink as you read. (I would say “a lot of coffee” but some of those coffees are really high-priced.)